10 random facts about Kenya’s Wajir county you need to know

The Supreme Court of Kenya is due to rule today (15 February) on a petition challenging the 2017 election of Mohammed Abdi Mohamud as the governor of the northeastern county of Wajir.

Mohamud’s 2017 election was challenged by his predecessor Ahmed Abdullahi who alleged “massive” malpractices during the vote almost two years ago.

Mr. Mohamud, or ‘MAM’ as he is known among his supporters, is a former Kenyan ambassador to Saudi Arabia

The court gave a notice on Tuesday saying the judgement will be ready by Friday.

“Take notice that this matter coming up for judgement on Friday, 15 February 2019 at 2:30 pm before the Supreme Court of Kenya,” read the notice sent to the lawyers involved for the petitioner and Mr. Mohamud.

So, here are 20 facts that you need to know about Wajir county:

1. Wajir county is located in northeastern Kenya, bordering Mandera to the north and northeast, Somalia to the east, Garissa to the south and southwest, Isiolo and Marsabit to the west, and the Ethiopia to the northwest.

2. It occupies of area 56,685.8 sq km, making the third largest county in Kenya geographically.

3. According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, Wajir’s population was 661,941 people with a population density of 12 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 3.7%.

4. Wajir has a mean annual temperature of 28°C with rainfall amounts ranging between 250mm and 700mm per annum in different parts of the county.

5. The county has several tourist attractions which include; Wajir Museum, Wagalla Massacre Site, Orpahey Wells, British & Italian War Bunkers, Old Court House and Yahut Dame.

6. The main economic activity in Wajir County is pastoralism with some agro-pastoralism and rain-fed agriculture being practised on a small scale basis in the northern higher altitude regions of the county.

7. Wajir County has six (6) parliamentary constituencies which are further divided into 30 electoral wards with Wajir North and Wajir South having 7 wards each, while the rest; Wajir West, Wajir East, Tarbaj and Eldas have 4 wards each.

8. British colonialists established Wajir town in 1912, to serve as their colonial headquarters. The town Wajir town is now one of the oldest in Kenya after Malindi and Mji wa Kale in Mombasa.

9. Wajir County has an international airport. Wajir International Airport handles about seven flights per day.

10. The name “Wajir” is said to mean “coming together” in the Borana language as the county is home to a number of clans and pastoral communities that used to congregate in areas around Wajir town to water their animals.

Source: Biladd.com